The North House
301 West Washington Street
The North/Dennis House
209 South Lafayette Street
The Greenbrier Historical Society is pleased to announce their biennial fundraiser, “Lemonade & Lavender” Historic Home and Garden Tour on Saturday, June 13, 2009. This year, 4 homes of both architectural and historical significance to the area, a one of a kind guest house, a historic church and two lavish gardens will be open for the public to tour from 10am to 4pm. Features of this year’s tour in Lewisburg include the Cottage Belle Garden, the John A. North House, The North/Dennis House, the Merry Hill Caboose Guest House and Formal Garden and the Turner Home at Walnut Hill. In addition to these, the Martin House and St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Church are included in revitalized neighboring community of Ronceverte, West Virginia.
The North/Dennis House, at 209 South Lafayette Street in Lewisburg, a charming historic house tucked away on Lot No. 60 of Lewisburg’s Original 64 Lots. Lot 60 was sold to Alexander Porter on April 1, 1795 for 5 pounds. The next recorded conveyance of Lot 60 was in 1844 when it was conveyed to John A. North, who lived in “the second North House” across the street. Between 1795 and 1844 a house was built on the property and in 1868 was conveyed to Amanda Knapp, daughter of Julia Ann Westfall. Currently the home is owned by Ms. Carol Phippen of Lewisburg.
Visitors are greeted by a delightful cottage garden and picket fence at the front entrance. The front four rooms of this picturesque residence contain all original floors, fireplaces, mantles and woodwork. In the cozy front parlor, a private staircase at the back of the room leads to two bedrooms, also with original floors and woodwork. The intimate dining room with fireplace leads to a large family room with an exposed brick noggin. During the recent restoration, wainscoting and beams from a replaced bedroom were used in this family room. A downstairs bedroom, bath and delightful new kitchen were also created. The home is furnished throughout with period antiques, interesting artwork and decorative painting. This little treasure is sure to be highlight of this year’s tour.
The North House, at 301 West Washington Street in Lewisburg, was built as a private residence for John North and his wife Charlotte in 1820. It later became the Star Tavern owned by James Frazier in 1836. In the 1900’s this national register home became an important building on the campus of Greenbrier Women’s College, being used as the home for a number of the presidents and faculty. Finally, in 1994 the Greenbrier Historical Society gained ownership of the house for their priceless collections and to continue the ongoing preservation of Greenbrier County’s treasured past. Since that time the home has undergone major renovations. In September, 2004 the new Robert Telford Wing was unveiled as well as the repairs made to restore the home to its original splendor. Narrow 1920’s flooring was removed to uncover the original, yellow pine plank flooring. Layers of paints were removed to discover the original color of the interior walnut woodwork that was hand carved by Conrad Burgess, a well known 19th century craftsman in the region. The home is meticulously decorated with antiques of the period that are connected to Greenbrier County and its founders.
Proceeds from this special event will benefit the Greenbrier Historical Society’s North House Museum. The funds raised will help to eliminate the debt incurred from the Millennium Restoration of the North House. Tickets are $15 each and may be purchased in advance at the North House Museum, the Open Book and The General Lewis Inn after May 18th. Tickets will also be available the day of the event at any of the homes featured on the tour. For more information or to reserve your tickets in advance, call (304)645-3398 or visit www.greenbrierhistorical.org.